2020-2021 International Speaker Series (Online)

Rethinking Cultural Constructions of Law in East Asia


From August 2020 through June 2021, at least thirty internationally renowned scholars will join us to discuss recent developments and new directions of research in the related fields of East Asian legal cultures and histories. Information about the schedule and registration is provided below.


             Registration               

Organizers 



Program for Fall 2020-Spring/Summer 20201

All the talks will be held on Friday, from 10 am to 12:30 pm, Eastern Time Zone (New York), or 7-9:30 am in Los Angeles, 3-5:30 pm in London, 10 pm - 12:30 am in Beijing, and 11 pm -1:30 am in Seoul/Tokyo

The registration website states that the talks start at 9 am ETZ, meaning that all participants can enter Zoom's "waiting room" if they want to queue up and that the organizers can set up the meeting room for the speakers/commentators. But all talks actually start at 10 am ETZ and the hosts may start to let participants into the meeting room shortly before that.

All participants should register at least 24 hours before the talk to receive the link and password in time.
Fall 2020
Talk 1. August 28, 2020
Speaker:
Professor Mark Ramseyer, Harvard University
Title:  Ostracism in Village Japan: Thinking about Culture in the Courts
Commentators:
Professor Eric Feldman, University of Pennsylvania
Professor John Haley, University of Washington
Talk 2. September 25, 2020
Speaker:
Professor Taisu Zhang, Yale University
Title: The Ideological Foundations of the Qing Fiscal State
Commentators:
Professor Aziz Rana, Cornell University
Professor Yuhua Wang, Harvard University
Talk 3. October 23, 2020
Speaker:
Professor Jisoo Kim, George Washington University
Title: Sexual Desire, Adultery Law, and Gendered Subjects in Early Modern Korea
Commentators:
Professor Anders Karlsson, University of London SOAS
Professor Jungwon Kim, Columbia University
Talk 4. November 20, 2020
Speaker:
Professor Teemu Ruskola, Emory University
Title: A Brief History of Inequality in China (subject to change)
Commentators:
Professor Odette Lienau Cornell University
Professor Xingzhong Yu, Cornell University
Talk 5. December 11, 2020
Speaker:
Professor Benjamin Liebman, Columbia University
Title:  Reconceptualizing the Roles of Chinese Courts
Commentators:
Professor William Alford, Harvard University 
Professor Valerie Hans, Cornell University
Spring/Summer 2021
Talk 6. January 29, 2021
Speaker:
Professor Annelise Riles, NorthWestern University

Commentators: TBA
Talk 7. Feb. 26, 2021
Speaker:
Professor Sida Liu, University of Toronto

Commentators: TBA
Talk 8. March 26, 2021
Speaker:
Professor Rachel Stern, University of California at Berkeley

Commentators: TBA
Talk 9. April 23, 2021
Speaker:
 Professor Li Chen, University of Toronto

Commentators: TBA
Talk 10. May 28, 2021
Speaker:
 Professor Kentaro Matsubara, University of Tokyo

Commentators: TBA
Talk 11. June 25, 2021
Speaker:
Professor Donald Clarke, George Washington University

Commentators: TBA

Coming Up Next  下一次讲座


Topic:Sexual Desire, Adultery Law, and Gendered Subjects in Early Modern Korea

by Professor Jisoo Kim of George Washington University

with comments by  Professor Andres Karlsson of the University of London SAOS, and Professor Jungwon Kim of Columbia University


October 23, 2020, Friday, 10 am -12:30 pm, New York (ETZ), 7-9:30 am in Los Angeles, 3-5:30 pm in London, 10 pm -12:30 am in Beijing, 11 pm -1:30 am in Seoul/Tokyo

Please register at least one day before the talk.

Click here for Zoom registration 

The registration website states that the talks start at 9 am ETZ, meaning that participants can enter Zoom's "waiting room" if they want to queue up and that the organizers can set up the meeting room for the speakers/commentators. But all talks start at 10 am ETZ and the hosts may let participants into the meeting room shortly before that.